About Guyana

Guyana, or British Guyana, was the first of the three Guyana's to be independent. Before may 1966 it was the only British colony on the South American mainland.

Guyana borders on Suriname , French Guiana, Venezuela and Brazil .

Georgetown the capital is the largest city. New Amsterdam is a an old Dutch town. The Dutch and the English had ongoing wars in the Guyanas and the borders changed a lot.

Amongst the many attractions is Kaieteur falls in the south of the country is a spectacular attraction. The falls are 5 times higher than Niagara and located in the middle of an unspoilt rainforest. A hike in the tropical rainforest will be an unforgettable experience.

This is provided under the terms of the CCPL license, and is based on an original from World66 titled "Guyana", which is subject to Copyright and a Disclaimer.